19th Asian Television Awards – winners announced

Published on 12 December 2014

Singapore, December 12, 2014 – On December 11, 500 industry members, including channel heads, on-air personalities, and production personnel gathered at the Marina Bay Sands once again to celebrate the best in Asian Television at Marina Bay Sands, Singapore. The Asian Television Awards (ATA) is Asia's most significant and celebrated event, recognising excellence in programming, production and performance. Hosted by Harith Iskander, Asia’s best standup comedian, together with George Young, Sazzy Falak and Stephanie Carrington, this year’s event is graced with star-studded appearance of China’s Zhai Tian Lin, Hong Kong’s Selena Li, Philippines’ Dennis Trillo, Taiwan’s Tien-Hsin, Hsieh Chiung-Hsuan, 2moro, and more.

This year's ATA saw 1,371 entries from 14 countries across Asia-Pacific. In all, 199 channels from 119 broadcasters, as well as 64 independent production companies, vied for accolades across 38 award categories.

A total of 43 trophies were given out at the awards ceremony, including the "Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television" trophy presented to Larry Namer, President/CEO of Metan Global Entertainment Group. Some highlights include Malaysia’s Puteri Balqis Aizizi grabbing the "Best Actress in a Leading Role" for Balqis while Taiwan's Hsieh Chiung-Hsuan walked away with "Best Actress in a Supporting Role” for Lonely River. New Zealand’s Attitude Pictures also bagged an award for “Best Social Awareness Programme” for Attitude - Unlocking Autism while Japan’s TBS scored a win in “Best Drama Series” for Naoki Hanzawa.

As a finale, MediaCorp and CNN International ended off the night each with two major awards for "Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year” & "Terrestrial Channel of the Year", and "Cable & Satellite Network of the Year" & "Cable & Satellite Channel of the Year” respectively.

TV Asia Plus congratulates all the winners and nominees at this year's awards.

Check out the complete list of winners!

For more information, please visit www.asiantvawards.com.

My Magazine Subscription
Free e-book and e-newsletter